The Sandy Hook Mortar Battery
The 1890 Sandy Hook Mortar Battery was among the first Endicott-style
concrete gun batteries built on Sandy Hook as part of New York Harbor
defense against attack from the sea. Most of Sandy Hook's batteries had
guns that fired in a straight line that would blast into the sides of
attacking ships. The Mortar Battery was unique, it's guns fired in a
high arch with their shells designed to come down crashing through enemy
The Sandy Hook Mortar Battery has four mortar pits, each of which
contained four 12-inch mortars. The pits are connected by a tunnel
system where the shells and ammunition were stored and where the men who
fired the big guns could be housed.
By in 1930s, the mortar battery was obsolete and its guns were removed.
The tunnel system however took on a new role as it was converted to the
Command Center for all of New York Harbor defenses. Its rooms contained
communication, plotting and telephone rooms, a map room, and emergency
shipping and office spaces for military commanders. It was here that
harbor defense was directed throughout World War II.
Currently much of the battery is overgrown and one of the four mortar
pits is open to the public. in 2011 the National Park Service
successfully had all asbestos removed from the interior tunnels, and the
goal of the Sandy Hook Foundation is to rehabilitate the battery and
open more of it to the public.